A year of Transformation and Growth. July 31,2012-July 31,2013.

I was awarded the Thomas J. Watson Fellowship on March 15, 2012. I’ am on a year long course of independent international study. My focus is on youth development but my project will always be changing as I encounter new experiences. This year will be a year full of transformations. The purpose of this blog is to document my new experiences and my growth. It will also document the making of a short documentary that I will be working on throughout the year.

I’am excited, happy and full of fear but I will continue to explore the unkown and embrace the ups, downs , disappointments, happiness , laughter, and every tear that I shed. I honestly don’t know what this year will reveal to me but I’m ready to face anything that comes my way.

I immigrated from the Dominican Republic at four years old. Experienced years of instability, disapointments and homelessness. I attended Wheaton College in 2008 and graduated in 2012 with a degree in Sociology and a minor in Hispanic Studies. Along the way god has sent me guardian angels to help and encourage me. There are to many to name but you know who you are. I will always be gratefull for everything that you have done for me and taught me.

Becoming a Watson is one of the bigest streches that I have made in my life. I have come to realize that people have only seen the tip of the ice berge, there is so much more to who Iraimi Mercado is and can become.

Now, sit back relax and enjoy my journey!

Love, Iraimi : )

20120805-180828.jpg

One thought on “A year of Transformation and Growth. July 31,2012-July 31,2013.

Leave a Reply

