The mind of a thru-hiker: a scary place to be

Awesome quote!

My Meandering Trail

From the moment I decided to thru-hike the Appalachian Trail, my mother has provided unwavering support. She listened to my plans, encouraged me, and promised to send mail drop boxes all along the way. Then, the night before I flew to Georgia she finally said,

“So, what will you actually be doing all day? You just…hike?”

Ha! Truth comes out.

“Yes, Mom, I’ll hike. And eat. And camp. And take in the natural beauty around me. And think.”

“And…that’s it?”

We had a good laugh over our different views on having fun, but it made me realize that many of you might appreciate insight into the mind of a hiker (or at least this hiker) because, let’s face it, there’s a lot of time for thinking.

The other morning my friends and I left Franklin, NC after taking a Zero. Ron Haven, a great friend of the trail, dropped us…

View original post 1,101 more words

Leave a Reply

